Media image

Press Releases


MONTREAL, OCTOBER 31, 2007- The English Montreal School Board (EMSB) distributed 40 cash scholarships of $500 each October 30 to students from the graduating class of 2007 at a ceremony at the St. Pius X Facility (9955 Papineau) in Ahuntsic.

These scholarships have been funded from the proceeds of the third EMSB Scholarship Golf Tournament, held in Lachute in June, 2006 Beneficiaries from the most recent tournament, which took place last June, will be chosen at the end of the current academic year.

Scholarships were awarded to high school students who are continuing their studies in a post-secondary educational program. The students also receive free all-in-one printers courtesy of Dell.

The scholarships were divided into two categories:

Category I scholarships were presented to students who have demonstrated a high academic achievement as well as involvement in school life activities such as leadership, volunteerism, student council, school sports, representing the school in different events. The recipients are: Leah Rose Feldman, F.A.C.E School downtown; Sueba Dauda, James Lyng Adult Centre in St. Henri; Sheldon Wright and Elizabeth Lemme, James Lyng High School in St. Henri; Kassandra Lapointe, John F. Kennedy High School in St. Michel; Nadia Daly, Vanessa Cianciarelli and Alexandra Black, Laurenhill Academy in St. Laurent; Elliot Enns, Laurier Macdonald High School in St. Léonard; Vanessa Gatti and Gianni Montanaro, Lester B. Pearson High School in Montreal North; Robert Ravensbergen, M.I.N.D. High School on the Plateau; Alexia Castelli, Marymount Academy in N.D.G.; D'Arcy Le Blanc, Options II High School in Ville Émard; Vanessa Sicuso, Perspectives II High School in St. Michel; Preedman Rajaratnam and Roberto Manzo, Rosemount High School; Cassandra Freitas, Royal Vale School in N.D.G; James Vacarro and Rachel Prudhomme, Royal West Academy in Montreal West; Pickinson Adams, St. Laurent Adult Centre; Ting-Jia Lorigiano, Vincent Massey Collegiate in Rosemount and Samuel Cardin and Michelle Orsini, Westmount High School.

Category II scholarships were awarded to students who have persevered in the face of overwhelming odds and personal difficulties. The recipients were: Ogbit-Tesfu Ogbit, James Lyng Adult Centre; Dipta Nath Chowdhury, James Lyng High School; Amanda Tulli, James Lyng High School; Reason Chartier, M.I.N.D. High School; Tushar Khan, Marymount Academy; Brittany Leut, Options II School; Katrina Tarondo amd CindyWu Rosemount High School; Dejah Roulston-Wild, Royal Vale School; Sean Remz and Kevin Poupart, Royal West Academy; Michel Wong, St. Laurent Adult Centre; Ly Chorvy, St. Pius X Adult Centre; Alyssa Brandone, Vincent Massey Collegiate; and Ariel Grischkan and Cassandra Clayma, Westmount High School.

Michael J. Cohen
Communications and Marketing Specialist
English Montreal School Board
Tel: (514) 483-7200 ext. 7243
Fax: (514) 483-7213