Press Releases


Repercussion Theatre

MONTREAL, MARCH 29, 2012 –   A total of 72 students representing 39 EMSB elementary schools from Regions 1, 2 and 3 participated in a celebration of the beauty of creative and imaginative storytelling at the annual Storytelling Festival, which took place on three consecutive Wednesday mornings in March.

Region 1’s festival took place on March 14 at Pierre de Coubertin School in St. Leonard. Fraser Academy in Ville St. Laurent hosted the Region 2 event on March 21. And Westmount Park School was the site of the Region 3 storytelling festival on March 28.

In front of an audience made up of parents, principals from the participating schools, EMSB administrators and students from the host schools, the students displayed their storytelling talents, by reciting a story, in either English or French, that was adapted from a book, or was originally written by the students themselves. Each participant won storytelling contests that were held at their respective schools, and were judged on their ability to effectively tell a story.

The EMSB regional storytelling festivals were organized Elementary English Language Arts Consultant Terry Saba.

The participating Region 1 students were: Ariel Jodoin-Faraci and Nikola Milojkovic (Dalkeith School in Anjou); Antonia D’onofrio and Angelika Mercier (Dante School in St. Leonard); Jenna Colodonato and Giuliano Di Staulo (East Hill School in RDP); Martina Iacampo (Edward Murphy School in Hochelaga-Maisonneuve); Elena Landaverde, Julia Spink, Marilyn Pagano and Victoria Stellato (General Vanier School in St. Leonard); Anna Rosa Percoco and Afzaal Gahia (Gerald McShane School in Montreal North); Alexandra Matos-Gerko and Alyssa Landry (Honore Mercier School in St. Leonard); Gianfrnaco Comito and Sabrina Romanelli (Leonardo Da Vinci Academy in RDP); Simon Berard and Lucia Rosato (Michelangleo School in RDP); Marie-Lee Scrabbi and Anthony Campopiano (Our Lady of Pompei School in Montreal North); Vanessa Di Pietrantonio (Pierre de Coubertin School in St. Leonard); Dominic Di Gennaro (St. Brendan School in Rosemount); and Stephanie Dias Da Silva (St. Raphael School in Villeray).

Representing  Region 2 were the following students: Dominic Nudo and Elena Bostina (Bancroft School in the Plateau); Senthuran Thambiayah and Laetitia Tremblay (Carlyle School in T.M.R.); Andrew McKenna and Vasiliki Victoria Giannopoulos (Cedarcrest School in Ville St. Laurent); Emmanuelle Conyers and Veronica Pereira (Dunrae Gardens School in T.M.R.); Jacqueline Robins (FACE School in downtown Montreal); Oliver Eng and Connor Mansell (Fraser Academy in Ville St. Laurent); Georgia Baloukas and Alessio Palladino (Gardenview School in Ville St. Laurent); Stephanie Loureiro-Patriarca and Vanessa Masciotra (John Caboto Academy in Ahuntsic); Anuntha Elayathamby and Terry Kontakos (Nesbitt School in Rosemount); Sivagamy Sriranganatham and Vy Le (Parkdale School in Ville St. Laurent); Michael; Faraone and Leanna Giovannitti (Pierre Elliott Trudeau School in Rosemount); Frederick Fanous-Schmidt and Mahua Nath (Sinclair Laird School in Park Extension); and Gabriel Masi and Stavros Koutoulas (St. Dorothy School in St. Michel).

The students who appeared on behalf of Region 3 were: Antonio Hewitt Godoy and Kazaria Davy (Coronation School in Cote des Neiges); Lauren Drummond, Katy Feldman and Madison McLauchlan (Edinburgh School in Montreal West); Ruth Tefera MeKonnen and Nicholas Dahdah (Elizabeth Ballantyne School in Montreal West); George Hua (Hampstead School); Miara Solivo and Jordan Harte (Merton School in Cote St. Luc); Ege Nur Satir and Zoe Pettigrew Zetka (Roslyn School  in Westmount); Ashley Jedwab and Andrew Pinck (Royal Vale School in N.D.G.); Diba Khanam, Vanessa Eustace and Haya Kalah (St. Gabriel School in Pointe St. Charles); Destini Baribeau-Houle, Abeer Awwad and Mariella Saccomando (St. John Bosco School in Ville Emard); Edgar Hudson-Aguilar (St. Monica School in N.D.G.); Bionce Oliver and Tamisha Subramaniam (Westmount Park School); and Olivia Ciarma and Eric Crotty (Willingdon School in N.D.G.).

At the halfway point of each storytelling festival, the audience members were treated to a special musical interlude, in which the students of the host schools  performed a music, song or dance number.

Each student was presented with a trophy and certificate by the principals of the host schools, as well as EMSB Pedagogical Services Assistant Director Christine Denommee, and EMSB Commissioners Joseph Lalla, Patricia Willis and Liz Leamon. Ms. Denomme, along with retired Region 1 Director Marzia Michielli and Region 3 Director Paola Miniaci, each served as an emcee for the storytelling festivals.



Michael J. Cohen
Communications and Marketing Specialist
English Montreal School Board
Tel: (514) 483-7200 ext. 7243
Fax: (514) 483-7213