Press Releases


MONTREAL, OCTOBER 20, 2003— Nominations for candidates in the 23 electoral wards of the English Montreal School Board (EMSB) closed on Sunday, October 19 at 5 p.m. Twelve people were acclaimed as commissioners, setting the stage for elections in 11 districts.

Voting will take place on Sunday, November 16 from 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Advance polls, for people who will be on duty on polling day, handicapped persons and individuals who have reason to believe they will be absent or unable to vote, will be open on Sunday November 9 from Noon to 8 p.m.

The list of candidates is as follows:

(*denotes incumbent commissioner; **denotes previously represented another ward)

Electoral division 1: (Côte Saint-Luc)
*Syd Wise (acclaimed)

Electoral division 2: (Montreal West)
*Dr. John Simms (acclaimed)

Electoral division 3: (N.D.G.)
Elizabeth Fokoefs (acclaimed)

Electoral division 4: (Hampstead - Còte Saint-Luc)
*Marvin Helfenbaum
Inge Mayodon
Marc Younger

Electoral division 5: (N.D.G. - St. Henri - Ville Émard)
Michele Ciampini (acclaimed)

Electoral division 6: (St Henri - Pointe St-Charles - Westmount - Downtown)
Daniel Andrelli (acclaimed)

Electoral division 7: (Westmount)
Ginette Sauvé-Frankel
Richard Lalonde

Electoral division 8: (Côte des Neiges - Snowdon - Outremont)
Allan J. Levine
Zev Neuwirth

Electoral division 9: (Mount Royal - Saint-Laurent)
*Ron Paterson (acclaimed)

Electoral division 10: (Saint-Laurent)
*Bernie Praw (acclaimed)

Electoral division 11: (Saint-Laurent - Cartierville)
**James Kromida (acclaimed)

Electoral division 12: (Ahuntsic)
Luigi D’Ascoli
*Joseph Petraglia

Electoral division 13: (Park Extension - The Plateau)
*George Vogas (acclaimed)

Electoral division 14: (St-Michel)
Rocco Barbieri
Michele Benigno

Electoral division 15: (Montreal North)
*Sylvia LoBianco (acclaimed)

Electoral division 16: (St-Leonard)
*Dominic Spiridigliozzi (acclaimed)

Electoral division 17: (St. Leonard)
Frank Verrillo (acclaimed)

Electoral division 18: (Rosemount)
Agostino Cannavino
*James Symianick

Electoral division 19: (Rosemount - Hochelaga-Maisonneuve - Downtown - The Plateau)
Giuseppa Anello
*Angela Mancini

Electoral division 20: (St. Leonard)
*Frank DiCesare (acclaimed)

Electoral division 21: (Anjou - Pointe-aux-Trembles - Montreal East)
Luciano D’Iorio
*Ted Donnini

Electoral division 22: (Rivière-des-Prairies)
Angie Bertone
*Rosa Cerrelli

Electoral division 23: (Rivière-des-Prairies)
Mario Caggiano (acclaimed)

A special Elections section on the EMSB website provides comprehensive details on the electoral divisions, with accompanying maps. Full colour brochures, featuring an EMSB electoral map, are available at the EMSB school or centre closest to your home.

In order to vote one must currently be on the permanent list of electors in Quebec, be 18 years of age and over, a Canadian citizen, domiciled in the territory of the EMSB, have been domiciled in Quebec for at least six months, not be under curatorship and not have been convicted of an offence that is a corrupt electoral practice. Any parent who has a child registered in an EMSB youth sector elementary or high school as of September 30, 2003 is automatically on the list. In addition, any elector who made a choice prior to the June 1998 elections and had their name entered on the EMSB electoral list is included. The same goes for those who have signed a form to get on the list over the last few months. Voters who may be on the French election list have until October 30 to fill out such a form to make the switch.

The revision period for the electoral list is October 23-24, and October 27-30 inclusive. You can visit any one of the following five locations: EMSB Central Head Office in N.D.G. (6000 Fielding Avenue); Lester B. Pearson High School in Montreal North (11575 P.M. Favier); John F. Kennedy High School in Villeray ( 3030 Villeray); LaurenHill Academy in St. Laurent (2505 Cote Vertu) and Westmount High School (4350 Ste Catherine). These locations will be open from 1 p.m. to 6 p.m. and from 9 a.m. to 9 p.m. on October 30, 2003. You must show two pieces of identification, one containing a photo and another with your present address. Copies of the electoral list have been issued by the Director General of Elections and posted in the five revision centres.

For more information, please contact the Election Office of the EMSB (514) 483-7200 Ext. 7888 or 7889, e-mail or consult the Directeur général des élections du Québec Web site at www.electionsquebec.qc.caor call 1-888-353-2846.

Michael J. Cohen
Communications and Marketing Specialist
English Montreal School Board
Tel: (514) 483-7200 ext. 7243
Fax: (514) 483-7213