Press Releases


MONTREAL, MAY 17, 2005- Three students from the English Montreal School Board (EMSB) captured medals at the 23rd annual Board of Trade of Metropolitan Montreal Outstanding Student Awards Program May 17 at the Hilton Bonaventure Hotel.

Rocco Portaro of Vincent Massey Collegiate in Rosemount won a gold medal in the category of Sciences/Math. Zachary Masoud of Laurier Macdonald High School in St. Leonard won silver in Social Sciences and Ryan Kochen of St. Pius X Culinary Institute in Ahuntsic picked up a bronze in the Vocational category. They received plaques and cash prizes of $1,000, $700 and $300 respectively.

The EMSB had another eight nominees: Melissa Cerone, Lester B. Pearson High School in Montreal North and Annelise Miller of Royal West Academy in Montreal West (Sciences/Math); Hangi Chon of Westmount High, Anita Sacco of Vincent Massey and Jenna Wilson of Royal West Academy in Arts; Anne Bergeron of LaurenHill Academy in St. Laurent and Claire Lefebvre of Royal West Academy in Social Sciences; and Victor Gee of Rosemount Technology Centre in Vocational.

This prestigious event recognizes noteworthy personal creative projects completed by Secondary V and vocational education students attending Montreal area schools. All of the finalists were interviewed by jury members in their respective categories. They had to maintain an average of at least 80 percent to qualify.

Michael J. Cohen
Communications and Marketing Specialist
English Montreal School Board
Tel: (514) 483-7200 ext. 7243
Fax: (514) 483-7213