Press Releases


MONTREAL, JUNE 28, 2017 – The winners of YA Media’s YA Writers Contest were announced at a red carpet event on Sunday, June 25  at the Leonardo Da Vinci Center in St. Leonard. Students from the English Montreal School Board (EMSB) and the Lester B. Pearson School Board attended to celebrate their story-writing talents.

YA Magazine’s YA Writers Contest invited students from Grades 1 to 11 sfrom the EMSB and LBPSB to submit handwritten, original, illustrated stories that were no longer than 12 pages, to Giancarlo Mirabelli, YA Magazine editor and teacher, and Carolyn Flower, published author and head of Entrerprises Global.

Of the 1,000 entries submitted, 40 students from three grade categories at each school board were selected as finalists. These students were invited to attend the gala, walk the glamorous red carpet, and enjoy the award ceremony hosted by local comedian Guido Grasso.

Winners from the EMSB were: Sara Lijoi, Grade 4 (Dante School); Thomas Proctor, Grade 4 (Gardenview); Neve Leblanc, Grade 3 (Royal Vale); Sydney Schnurbach, Grade 4 (Merton); Jaime Kunin, Grade 4 (Merton); Clara Dilazzaro, Grade 6 (Leonardo Da Vinci); Gianna D'Amico, Grade 5; Liem Yiep, Grade 5 (Willingdon);  Sandro Lijoi, Grade 6 (Dante); Alyssa Guaragna, Grade 6 (East Hill); Jenny Gagne, (JFK); Cecile Castro, Grade 10 (John F. Kennedy); Erica Nudo, Grade 8 (John Paul I); Alexander Meleras, Grade 9 (Royal West Academy); Cosimo Nicita, Grade 7 (John Paul I).

Stories were judged by Concordia students, journalism professionals and literary experts. The winningstories will be compiled in an e-book titled Ya! Storybook, which will be available worldwide on Amazon in November. Congratulations to these soon-to-be-published authors.

Michael J. Cohen
Communications and Marketing Specialist
English Montreal School Board
Tel: (514) 483-7200 ext. 7243
Fax: (514) 483-7213