Press Releases


Repercussion Theatre

MONTREAL, NOVEMBER 25, 2011 - The English Montreal School Board (EMSB) distributed 43 cash scholarships of $500 each on Tuesday, November 22  to students from the graduating class of 2011 at a ceremony that was held at the St. Pius X Facility in Ahuntsic. 

“This evening is our way of saying ‘congratulations’ for all you have done; however, congratulations also goes out to your parents, teachers and administrators, who through their unending support, have guided you on your way to success both inside and outside the classroom,” said EMSB Director General Robert Stocker.

These scholarships were funded from the proceeds of the seventh EMSB Scholarship Golf Tournament, held in June 2010. Scholarships were awarded to high school students who are continuing their studies in a post-secondary educational program and they are divided into two categories:

Category I scholarships were presented to students who have demonstrated a high academic achievement as well as involvement in school life activities such as leadership, volunteerism, student council, school sports, representing the school in different events. The recipients were: Anthony Di Stefano and Amanda Lafferty, Lester B. Pearson High School in Montreal North; Stephanie Tullo, Laurier Macdonald High School in St. Leonard; Cynthia Siino and Adele Vizcaino, Vincent Massey Collegiate in Rosemount; Olivia Shaw, FACE in downtown Montreal; Sierra Lapointe, John F. Kennedy High School in St. Michel; Gabriella Daly, LaurenHill Academy in St. Laurent; Daniel Altenberg, MIND in the Plateau; Alexandre St.-Onge, Rosemount High School; Anthony Duchene, James Lyng High School in St. Henri; Abicumaran Uthamacumaran, Marymount Academy in N.D.G; Shari Endleman, Royal Vale in N.D.G.;Hugo Barnaby, Royal West Academy in Montreal West; Yelyzaveta Lapina, Westmount High School; Jordan Norville, Options II in Ville-Emard; Young Hee Park, James Lyng Adult Education Centre in Verdun; Angela Tom, Mona Patel, Xiao Xin Guan, and Jenifer Baudru, Shadd Business Centre in N.D.G.; and Munira Chynybaeva, St. Laurent Adult Centre.

Category II scholarships were awarded to students who have persevered in the face of overwhelming odds and personal difficulties. The recipients were: Isaura Del Torto, Laurier Macdonald High School in St. Leonard; Ivana Mancini and Vince Cerone, Lester B. Pearson High School in Montreal North; Andrew Zaccardo, Vincent Massey Collegiate in Rosemount; Brianna Rockbrand, FACE in Ville-Marie; Julia Gobby, John F. Kennedy High School in St. Michel; Fatimah Rehwan, LaurenHill Academy in St. Laurent; Cecilia Zafiris, MIND in the Plateau; Robincy Sinnathurai, Rosemount High School; Derrick Barkley, James Lyng High School in St. Henri; Daniya Poonlah, Marymount Academy in N.D.G.; Callie Alt, Royal Vale in N.D.G.; Ryan Hussey and Sarah Owen, Royal West Academy in Montreal West; Jeremy Biskin, Westmount High School; Karen Collins, Options II in Ville-Emard; Dionne Wiles, James Lyng Adult Education Center in St. Henri; Iswor Raj Chalise and Deepak Shrestha, Shadd Business Centre in N.D.G.; and Rebecca Nazarian, St. Laurent Adult Centre.

These 43 honorees were recognized not only for their accomplishments in the classroom, but what they have accomplished within the community at large, as well as successfully confronting and overcoming many difficult personal challenges. Such shining examples of determination included Abicumaran Uthamacumaran, who was accepted directly to McGill University after graduating from Marymount Academy, and was recently honoured by Marymount and McGill for that accomplishment, and has been recognized for his research efforts into the fight against cancer. Then there’s Dionne Wiles, a single mother of four children who began her formal education at James Lyng Adult Centre. Not only did she earn her DES this past June, but she also found time to volunteer at the Jewish Eldercare Centre, and was accepted in the PAB program at the Pearson Adult Career Centre (PACC).  Gabriella Daly of LaurenHill Academy was known for being a well liked, outgoing individual who was very inclusive with the student body. She served as president of the Student Council,  represented the student body on its Governing Board and also got involved with several charitable fundraisers, including the Telethon of Stars, breast cancer research and Doctors Without Borders. Finally, there is Julia Gobby from John F. Kennedy High School, who had to work after hours throughout the school year to help support her family – while one of its members was battling an illness – yet she managed to have a successful academic year and got involved with the Christmas basket committee and served as editor of the school yearbook.



Michael J. Cohen
Communications and Marketing Specialist
English Montreal School Board
Tel: (514) 483-7200 ext. 7243
Fax: (514) 483-7213