EMSB expresses appreciation to retirees

admin building
Montreal - Wednesday, December 1, 2021

English Montreal School Board Director General Nick Katalifos has expressed his appreciation to employees who have taken their retirement.

Savignano Maria - Vice Principal - St. Laurent Adult Education Centre
Maria Savignano

This past year, due to the restrictions of the pandemic, a reception to recognize retirees was cancelled. However, Mr. Katalifos wrote a letter of congratulations which stated: “I would like to convey our best wishes to you for a happy, health and a blissful retirement. . . You have dedicated yourself to education and to the English Montreal School Board.  Your diligence and contributions to our daily operations has benefited many students and staff.  While the Board is saddened to see you go we are confident that you will find the same success and happiness in your retirement...”

Each retiree will receive a special thank-you gift of a crystal decanter, with four stemmed glasses.

There are sixty-six people who retired from the EMSB in 2021 who worked as educators, administrators, professionals and support staff, and whose combined years of service to the Board added up to 1,522 years.

The retirees are: from Adult Education and Vocational Service, Kasinathar Balakrishnan; Bancroft Elementary, Lina Gallaccio, Nacera Krim, Dorothy Ostrowitz and Georges Tzovanis; Cedarcrest Elementary, Richard Hogan; Dalkeith Elementary, Louise Houle; Dante Elementary, Angela De Crescentis-Crispino and Mary Lappos; Dunrae Gardens Elementary, Marie-Josée Dalpé; Educational Services, Cynthia Garofalo-Gysin; Edward Murphy Elementary, Joanne Bottone; Elizabeth Ballantyne Elementary,  Susan Bowen; Gardenview Elementary, Tatiana Jipa; Honore Mercier Elementary, Lisa Di Zazzo-Tavone; Human Resources, Vincenzo Maffei; I.T.S., Eddy Hong, Peter Leonard and Mel Pololos; James Lyng Adult Centre, Martine Costel-Johnson; John F. Kennedy Adult Centre, Miriam Fent and Anna Manfredi; LaurenHill Academy, Sherilyn Bell, Kelvin Murray and Roxana Reich; Laurier Macdonald High, Margot Mcnally; Laurier Macdonald Adult Centre, Giuseppe Alfano; Lester B. Pearson High, Diane Culliford; Mackay Centre, Susan Chabin-Reisler; Merton Elementary, Marina Cardu; Michelangelo International, Santa Carnevale, Sandra Cicalo, Maria Carmela Giraldi, Esther Gonzalez and Olivier Yanon; Nesbitt Elementary, Georges Constantourakis; Parkdale Elementary, John Pike; Pierre de Coubertin Elementary,  Giovanna Agnello, Antonietta Carlone and Sharon Galdikas; Rosemount High,  Michael Kappatos; Rosemount Technology Centre, Daniel Pearson, Abe Grant,  Bernard Julien and  Kendrick Scantlebury; Roslyn Elementary, Linda Butt; Secretary General, Liane Langlois; Shadd Health & Business Centre, Anita Raymond; Sinclair Laird Elementary, Shirley Leibiski-Kornitzer; St. Laurent Adult Centre, Lucy Bedrossian and Maria Savignano; St. Pius X Career Centre, Susie Douranos and  Mario Germain; St. Monica Elementary,  John Metz; Student Services, Liliane Abitbol, Kim Ashton and Gladys Batten; Venture Alternative High School, Halina Waverchuck; Westmount High, Miriam Zehavi and Layla Khanji; Westmount Park Elementary,  Evelyne Guitta and Amalia Izzi; Willingdon Elementary, Sylvia Azzuolo and Myriam Tadros.

About the English Montreal School Board

With a youth and adult sector population of more than 35,000 students, the English Montreal School Board (EMSB) is the largest English public school board in Quebec. Established on July 1, 1998, when the province created new boards along linguistic lines, the EMSB network consists of 77 schools and centres. For more details, visit the EMSB website at

Related Articles
View All
Jul 17, 2024
The Council of Commissioners of the English Montreal School...
Read More
Jul 01, 2024
Students of the English Montreal School Board’s (EMSB)...
Read More